The Help, by Kathryn Stockett

December 12, 2010

The Help

I don’t usually review any of the books I read, but I felt moved to do so for this one.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

When I read this, not only was I moved by the love/hate relationship between white people and their black caretakers (a topic I am not extremely familiar with), but also the story made me think of the current civil rights movement involving the LGBT community. The parallel hit me in a way I wasn’t suspecting. Maybe if you read it you’ll see what I mean.

3 Responses to “The Help, by Kathryn Stockett”

  1. Miz Parker said

    I hadn’t thought of it that way, but you’re right! It also seems to be a product of the south that they are resisting the LGBT rights movement like they resisted the racial equality movement. I reviewed this one today.

    http://mizparker.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/the-help/

  2. emkiser said

    It was the way the townspeople couldn’t comprehend that black/white equality was a civil right that really struck me. It’s like it just couldn’t register in their brains, and that’s how they managed to be “good people” but treat their help so poorly. It’s baffling to view from the outside. I see a lot of attitudes like that toward the LGBT community.

    Great review! I did cringe initially at the language used by the help, but I am pretty sure it was historically accurate in that regard; even for those who were educated. I got over it pretty fast and just went with the flow. :)

    • Miz Parker said

      What I thought was odd about it was that the whites were written free of the linguistic affectations that they have, but the blacks were written with it. Seems like she could have done both, or neither. It doesn’t matter, really. I still liked it. Thanks for checking out my site!

Leave a Reply

